Welcome to my blog and first post.

Welcome to my blog, I have set this blog up to show some of my metal detecting finds in greater detail then I can on my YouTube channel. Particularly the historical aspect of some of my finds. I hope you enjoy reading about my detecting adventures as much as I enjoy getting out there.

28/09/2013

I headed out early this morning to my current favourite park in search of some  silver coins and old relics. I headed to an area of the park where I had found four silver threepence coins in a small area last week and started swing my trusty E Trac. First target was a bottle cap, closely followed by a nice high tone target. What I dug up looked to be either a small gold ring or a  fishing rod eyelet! As it turned out it was indeed a ring, all though at first I though it was a junker due to the amount of corrosion on it, however a little while in the electrolysis bath revealed a small 9 ct signet ring with the stone missing.

Image

On the back, 9 ct was stamped into the top section.

Image

 

A couple of 50% silver sixpence’s came next. then I found a few silver threepence’s interspersed with the odd penny. Searching near the base of an old tree I got a good solid signal and retrieved a nice little plain silver ring, from the size most likely a child’s ring.

ImageImage

On closer inspection at home I found instead of the usual .925 stamp, this ring had a set of proper hall marks. From the marks I was able find that it was stirling silver, made in Chester in the UK in 1910. The jeweller was Charles Horner, who was well know for silver hat pins and silver thimbles. What I found interesting was that Horner found that while silver thimbles where very popular, steel needles would go through them into the owners finger. So Horner invented and patented a silver thimble with a steel core. This is one of the reasons I love this hobby, finding out interesting historical information that you wouldn’t normally come across.

After a few more copper coins, old and new, I had a sweet high tone under my coil. This revealed itself as an old looking sixpence. At home I was pleased to see it was an 1896 Queen Victoria Sixpence.

All up I finished up with a nice mix of old and new, copper and silver.

ImageImageImage

So until next time, good luck and happy hunting.

Mark

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to my blog and first post.

  1. Jospeh says:

    Let me know when you find that “POT OF GOLD”. If anyone is going to find it -it will be you 🙂

Leave a Reply

